top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRita J. Dashwood

Day 29 - 27/09/2022 - San José

To paraphrase a line from my second favourite movie of all time: I'm sad to go, I cannot tell a lie. Fortunately, it's not over just yet. My friend Genesis was over in her office in San José today, so that gave me the perfect opportunity to explore downtown San José a little bit more. I got to visit her office which, aside from some fabulous office furniture (unsurprisingly, since that's what they do), had some really amazing views of the whole city. We had lunch together at a delicious and -- unlike everything else in California -- actually affordable vegan restaurant. Trying to find the best coffee in town for my brother was the perfect excuse to walk around places I hadn't seen yet, like the San Pedro Square Market. Towards the end of the day, I had a couple of hours left before Genesis left work and so did what any other literary critic would do and found the nearest second-hand bookshop. This turned out to be the Recycle Bookstore, absolutely not the best place to stop by when you know for absolute certain you may be able to fit one book in your suitcase but certainly no more than that. In the end, I was strong enough to walk out with only a collection of Louisa May Alcott's short works, but not before I spent some time browsing one of the best YA literature sections I have ever seen in any bookshop. Do I really have to leave?




San José from above




The entrance to San Pedro Square Market

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page